Denver Broncos - NFL

The Denver Broncos are an American football team based in Denver, Colorado. The Broncos compete
in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league's American Football Conference
(AFC) West division. The team began play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League
(AFL) and joined the NFL as part of the merger in 1970. The Broncos are owned by the Pat Bowlen trust.
The Broncos have played at Sports Authority Field at Mile High since 2001, after previously playing
at Mile High Stadium from 1960 to 2000.The Broncos were barely competitive during their 10-year run in
the AFL and their first seven years in the NFL. They did not complete a winning season until 1973.
In 1977, four years later, they qualified for the playoffs for the first time in franchise history and
advanced to Super Bowl XII. Since 1975, the Broncos have become one of the NFL's more successful teams,
having suffered only six losing seasons.They have won eight AFC Championships (1977, 1986, 1987, 1989,
1997, 1998, 2013, 2015) and three Super Bowl championships (1997 (XXXII), 1998 (XXXIII), 2015 (50);
sharing the record for second most Super Bowl appearances with the Dallas Cowboys, and Pittsburgh Steelers,
right behind the New England Patriots record nine Super Bowl appearances. However, the Broncos have the
NFL record for most Super Bowl losses (5). They have five players in the Pro Football Hall of Fame: John Elway,
Floyd Little, Gary Zimmerman, Shannon Sharpe, and the most recently elected member, Terrell Davis.


The Broncos in the 1960s were one of the worst teams in all of the Nfl, over the decade they never managed to make
the playoffs although they drafted 3 future hall of Famers in one draft year during the period. Although the 1960s
were a tough time for the organization it paved the path for some more successful years in the coming decades.

1970s Broncos

In the 1970s the broncos attained much greater success than in their first full decade of existence. The beginning
of the decade was the same as the late 1960s; stale and without a playoff berth. The change occurred when coach
Lou Saban joined the team and introduced the Nfl to the "Orange Crush" defense that would carry the broncos to a playoff
berth over the next three seasons.


The 1980s were the kindest decade for the Broncos since entering the league. The team made an appearence in three
suberbowls. Although they would lose all three it gave the Denver fans something to cheer about. The quarterback during
this time was John Elway one of the games greats. The Broncos consistently made the playoffs, but always fell one piece to


1990s were the most succesful if you deem trophies successful for the Broncos. They came out on top of the league in back
to back seasons, 1997 and 1998. John Elway finally won his suberbowls and the organization was on top of the world. The
acquisition of running back Terrell Davis made the difference in the 1990s and now is the latest Broncos hall of famer.

Denver Broncos Official Website